Thursday, September 6, 2012

Give Sachin a break! Just literally!!!


Just saw another article on Tendulkar. They keep coming, eh? This time it’s about his body slowing down and his travails against the full length balls. Got to commend Martin Crowe for the point he made on the eyes getting better with age. Though that might vary from person to person, but still it’s something I didn’t think happens. So not the eyes then- right! Let’s go with the body. He says there is a mismatch between what the eyes see and the pace at which the body responds. Perhaps he is right, we would never know.

But I have serious doubts on that. Who is to say that the body wasn’t slow enough last year during the World Cup, when Sachin was in prime form, or even in the home series against West Indies when he looked majestic at times without getting a century. Why weren’t the reflexes slow enough one ball before getting dismissed in the 1st innings in Bangalore- when he hit a stunning straight drive for 4? Or in the 2nd innings when there was the classic Tendulkar back-foot punch?

That’s the issue when you look at isolated incidents. When TV replays show the 3 dismissals one by one, it does seem like there is a serious flaw. But if you have seen the match you would see how comfortable the man looked in each innings before suddenly getting out. Maybe it was just a lapse in concentration. All the talk about the body slowing down- I can believe that if there are long phases in Sachin’s innings when he struggles for timing- but that isn’t the case. Wouldn’t a slow body impact your whole innings rather than a couple of balls?

It was similar with Ricky Ponting when he struggled for runs over the last 2 years. Though he remained insistent that he was in good touch, the runs weren’t coming- Till the home series against India, where he seemed to rediscover his touch. My point- if a guy is looking good enough to get runs but still failing, don’t judge him. That’s the yardstick used for younger players too, right?

Also worth pointing out that this has been a long off-season. Last competitive match Tendulkar played before the test series was on 23rd May 2012, that’s 3 months back, that too in the IPL. No domestic matches, no practice matches since then. I am sure he would have loved to come into the series with some match practice. Possibly he was just too rusty. Perhaps he was a bit complacent. I don’t know for sure. Time will tell, if it has actually slowed down God. 

Style and class at the top


So, I did get both the predications right! Didn’t I? South Africa were quite impressive with AB finally coming into his own, and Hashim Amla being, well, the Amla we have come to know him as. England did show an initial fight, first with Cook and Bairstow, and then with Anderson and Dernbach, but it quickly faded away. Just drives home the point I was making a few days back too that at current there is no ODI team dominant enough to be called a deserving no. 1. Under different conditions some team would excel while others with wither away. As a true cricket fan, this is probably the best time to follow the game with no clear favorites and so many even contests.

A case in point in Australia- expected to do well in England they faced a whitewash there which was stunning actually, seeing the ease with which they lost. Then expected to suffer at the hands of Pakistan in UAE, they showed tremendous fight to win that series 2-1. And then a horrible performance in the first T20! I did expect them to lose, but not this crazily. They did get the batting order wrong. White needs to come up while Michael Hussey needs to stay lower in the order to combat the spinners.

Dealing with spinners of that quality is probably easiest to do in ODIs with defensive fields and pretty average run rates. In tests, they become a force with those close-in catchers. And in T20, the need to push on makes it equally tough against that quality. I was impressed with their new spinner Raza Hasan, and he may just be another nightmare for batsmen in the coming years. Don’t know what it is with Pakistan churning out such high quality bowlers this consistently- seamers and spinners alike!

I was looking at Amla’s numbers yesterday, and they are quite staggering. I have seen 50+ averages with guys batting in the middle order, like Michael Hussey and MSD, but not yet for a top order player. The thing to notice would be the no. of not outs he has, which isn’t too high unlike MSD or Hussey. So, in this case the average is a pretty fair reflection of his consistency. Even when you look at the strike rate, you would realize that with him it’s not just about holding an end up. He dominates and holds the innings simultaneously. That’s quite a deadly combination to have at the top of the order.

Span
Mat
Inns
NO
Runs
HS
Ave
BF
SR
100
50
0
4s
6s
2008-2012
62
60
6
3216
150
59.55
3506
91.72
10
19
1
318
17

His career actually took off in 2010, around the same point as Virat Kohli. And both have been quite exceptional in run chases as well. In fact, let’s look at the leading run scorers in ODIs since 1st Jan 2010.

There are few things that are almost obvious looking at the figures.

  1. India plays an insane amount of ODI cricket and as do SL. In fact, I think these two play an insane amount of cricket against each other! 
  2. If we go on numbers alone, AB de Villiers would probably be the best ODI batsman currently. His SR is over 100, while the average is stunning. And the conversion rate from 50s to 100s is 1:1. Add to that he is the captain and wicket keeper, and he would be the most valuable player around.
  3. The point made above about Amla’s less number of not outs, thus indicating the average is pretty realistic, and not inflated like in case of Kohli, AB or Clarke.
Since 1st Jan 2010
Player
Mat
Inns
NO
Runs
HS
Ave
SR
100
50
0
4s
6s
V Kohli (India)
75
74
10
3402
183
53.15
87.86
12
18
5
309
16
KC Sangakkara (SL)
71
67
6
2964
133
48.59
78.37
4
22
1
262
20
HM Amla (SA)
40
39
3
2368
150
65.77
95.48
9
13
1
234
12
MJ Clarke (Aus)
58
55
11
2333
117
53.02
80.19
3
16
1
161
21
AB de Villiers (SA)
39
38
11
2076
134
76.88
104.7
9
9
0
158
39
G Gambhir (India)
48
48
3
2067
138*
45.93
87.62
4
15
5
207
2
IJL Trott (Eng)
50
47
5
2060
137
49.04
75.37
3
16
2
153
2

*(ODI Runs > 2000 and Average>45)

Both of these- Kohli and Amla- are a treat to watch. Let’s wish they keep their rich vein of form going. At least that’s what the purists will hope.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Sachin's struggles: a literary creation?


I think I have already read 3 reviews on Tendulkar’s problems with getting bowled and if his time has come. Funnily, each one of them has shown full faith in his ability to iron out the flaws and come out stronger than ever. Let us also consider that Tendulkar’s last test century was against South Africa in January 2011. 16 tests have gone since then, Sachin playing in 13 of those, and 11 centuries have been scored by Indian batsmen in this period, one even by Ashwin, and strikingly 5 by one RS Dravid! All in all it makes it one of the driest periods in Sachin’s career.

I am a big Tendulkar fan. He is the one because of which I started following this great game. And no matter how bad a phase he has been going through, my faith in him has never wavered. Yes, he didn’t have enough 4th innings performances in bailing India out- something which he has corrected over the last 5-6 years, and yes, he is blocking a youngster’s place in the eleven. But, is there a young batsman in this country who has given performances to stake or even deserve a claim in the XI? Kohli did and Dravid gracefully retired. I still feel there was no debate for Laxman’s place with the no. 6 slot still unclaimed. But maybe the constant controversy forced him to retire.

As mentioned before, I did find the reaction of critics quite funny. It’s because it seems like everyone is now too scared to write the little master off. They did this mistake in 2007-2008 when almost everyone, even respected writers and experts like Ian Chappell and Sanjay Manjrekar wrote their obituaries telling it’s time for Sachin to retire, and then Sachin responded with 2 breath taking years in 2009 and 2010, capping them off with a World Cup win in 2011. The turnaround was so stunning that it seemed for the last 1 year no one had the courage to speak a word even with the 100th century struggle continuing. Now, it feels they are obliged to speak. But each one is choosing their words carefully, with no one looking for another ‘egg-in-the-face’ moment. It’s all too interesting from an outside perspective- because, if anything Sachin’s struggles in 2008 were of far lesser magnitude than they are now.

If you look at the figures, they would prove so. Though the average is lower back in 2006, but what’s worth noting is that 12 of the 14 tests were played in the subcontinent and on extremely low and slow pitches with most of them resulting in pretty average team scores. In that light, the average of 34 still looks decent. In contrast, 8 of the 13 tests currently are overseas. Especially in Australia, in the later part of the series, Sachin really struggled for his touch.

Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s
2005-2006 14 22 1 711 109 33.9 1508 47.1 1 4 1 108 1
Feb 2011- Now 13 24 0 841 94 35 1581 53.2 0 6 0 113 3

For now, the critics are quiet. Sachin’s powerful response last time might keep them quiet for some more time. If runs still don’t come, we might find these same people asking him to retire soon. Not that Sachin would care. He knows best when the time is right.

RISE OF MSD?
The other thing I wanted to talk about in this section was about MS Dhoni’s response to the retirements of Dravid and Laxman. Before the series started, I thought this might just bring more responsibility on Dhoni (I won’t use the word ‘pressure’- because for MSD there seems no pressure ever), partly because he had a role to play in their faster-than-usual retirements. With no Laxman at 6, and a struggling Raina there to go with Kohli, he might just be expected to bail India out more regularly than usual. He has started well with 2 50s and a 48*.

A big part in MSD coming of age in ODI cricket was the usual inexperienced look of the batting line up, where he was generally in the crease too early, or he was expected to shepherd the innings to a good total. Though his average had always remained at pretty unbelievable levels, but his consistency in scoring has been in sync with him having to move down the order and holding his own in the middle order. His exceptional run of form against England last year in ODIs, when it seemed most others were struggling, and he remained unbeaten throughout the 10 ODIs against England is a case in point. But in tests, the unbreachable ODI avatar gives way to a tentative prodding one.

At least in home conditions, MSD might just gain the consistency we expected from him. Since his debut, only once has he scored 3 consecutive 50+ scores. Otherwise, he has generally been disappointing. In overseas condition, whether he has the technique to survive against decent pace bowling, that’s a question that remains to be answered. Often people ask him to play like Gilchrist, but to keen cricket observers, it would easily be noticed that Gilchrist had a strong technique against quality pace bowling. Yes, later on in his career, Flintoff and co did show a potential weakness by going around the wicket to him, but still not many bowlers could produce that skill level.

Maybe it’s just a mind thing with him. Let’s hope he shows the same consistency again! That would bode well for this new look India!

First Post


Recent few weeks have been a dream come true if you are a cricket fan- the top 2 test teams fighting it out against each other, and then interestingly enough, the same 2 teams fighting it out for the ODI ranks as well.

It all ends today with the 5th ODI. Sadly the quality of cricket hasn’t been as great as we expected with dropped catches, some poor batting from SA and pretty average run-rates. With AB de Villiers not firing as usual, South Africa have really missed Kallis, the batsman. Elgar, Duminy and de Plessis were always going to be lightweights but they haven’t fluttered enough. England on the other hand have been steady. Just like against Australia they haven’t been tested enough except for the 2nd ODI, and their shortened and KP-less batting line-up is yet to be consistently tested.

South Africa have been below par, and with a proud guy like AB at the helm, and some ODI places up for grabs, I would expect a better showing from them today. I predict a 2-2 series draw, with England staying at the top of ODI rankings, quite appropriately. Sad to admit, I know!

Meanwhile, Pakistan begin their 3 match T20 campaign against Australia. Their over reliant on Ajmal cost them them the ODI series. It wasn’t as if the other bowlers weren’t good enough, which you can never say for the likes of Afridi, Hafeez, Rehman and Junaid (truly world class, isn’t it?), but it was more of a case where Australia didn’t have to chase too much and they needn’t really attack the others. That’s where Misbah messed it up by letting Australia milk runs against the spinners- the challenge for Australia would have been to try and score with more aggressive fields, something they were never asked to do.

However the T20s would require a more aggressive approach, unless Pakistan bat first and botch it up like they did managed to do in the ODIs. So, Pakistan need a decent score if batting first. Expect Pakistan to win this one.

Now the main one: India v/s New Zealand. I thought India were very impressive, as they should have been in their home conditions. And I don’t really agree with what most pundits feel that India weren’t convincing enough. India were lethal in Hyderabad where the conditions suited them to the hilt and their bowling in particular was as dangerous as it ever has been. You couldn’t expect the same as soon as we landed in Bangalore. The conditions weren’t suited to us, and if anything, it was more in favor of New Zealand with hardly any spin, and lots of seam movement.

Umesh Yadav was pretty disappointing. I said a few months ago that he isn’t a Test cricketer yet, and he needs to tour with India A to improve his consistency. Against England and Australia, he is going to be a liability if he doesn’t maintain his lengths. Yes, he will bowl the odd wicket taking delivery like he did to McCullum, but on Indian pitches he is still a work-in-progress. He needs more first class matches, or even a county stint should do him good.

Add to that, a new look batting line-up and a struggling opening combination. Moreover, Tendulkar didn’t get runs in a home series after a long long time. If you look at everything, it was an impressive performance. One can’t expect the issues of England and Australia tours to disappear suddenly. If that was so, then there was no point in Dravid and Laxman retiring. So let’s keep that in context.

The tough tours are still coming up, and let us be practical in our assessment then. With the changing landscape of Indian cricket, it would be too optimistic to expect a 4-0 drubbing of England. But let us keep our fingers crossed for a strong performance like I think this team did.

Sowing the seeds


As a 17 year cricket follower- and when I say follower I mean globally and not just of Indian cricket- and one of the more sane critics, I think my cricketing views are generally respected among my friends and colleagues. So, why not have a platform to share my views!! Like the two chucks! Hopefully, I would find enough time and desire to express my views and give updates on the latest cricket news across the globe. Starting today! Hope you guys enjoy it!

P.S. All views expressed in this blog are purely personal. Any reference to an incident or someone else's views are purely for this blog purpose and not to hurt anyone's sentiments